Dance for peace

Choreography for a soloist and 16 singers

Peace, hope, openness… These are some of the keywords that guided José Navas for the creation of a solo in which he dances in dialogue with the young women of Concerto Della Donna. The women perform an excerpt from the New World Symphony that Anton Dvořák composed after his first visit to New York. Together, they commemorate the centenary of the start of the First World War in a short film by Ian Cameron, introduced by a message of peace from Venezuelan-born pianist Gabriela Montero and commissioned byICI Musique.

The dancer described the experience as “like dancing inside an instrument.” The camera captured the emotion on their faces and in their bodies, while the images multiply in the spectator’s eye. Is it a soldier at a moment of farewell or a ship leaving port to discover the new continent? An angel carrying the memory of the dead or a bird flying over the ocean? The art direction is beautiful and the performance, a testimony to freedom.

To learn more about this project, visit ICI Musique.


  • Choreography: José Navas
  • Dancer: José Navas
  • Rehearsal Director: Lauren Semeschuk
  • Music: Anton Dvořák/Margaret Dryburgh, Symphony No 9 in E minor, Op. 95 “From the New World”
    – Largo (excerpt from the 2nd movement)
    interpreted by the Concerto Della Donna under the direction of Iwan Edwards
  • Concerto Della Donna:Kate Bevan-Baker, Katherine Black, Sandra Dakdouk Isidean, Katherine Dosman, Sarah Dowd, Emma Elbourne-Weinstock, Lindsey German, Caitlin Gordon, Caitlin Keenan, Julia King, Amy Norman, Julie Maisonneuve-Laforest, Amelia McMahon, Virginie Pacheco, Sara Robichaud Rousseau, Marie-Claire Sandon, Naomi Shin, Erika Wood
  • Executive Producer: Guylaine Picard
  • Video Producer: Ian Cameron
  • Coordination Assistant: Lydie Lacroix
  • Sound Engineer: François Goupil
  • Director of Photography: Jean-Yves Levac
  • Camera Operators: Denis Christopherson, Nicolas St-Germain
  • Technical Assistant: Alain Régimbald
  • Packaging Editor, Photographer: Mathieu Lavoie
  • Special Effects: Sébastien Dubois
  • Stage Hands: Claude Beyries, Luc Limoges, Stanislaw Majka
  • Makeup Artist: France Signori
  • RecordedJune 5, 2014 at studio 44, CBC/Radio-Canada, Montreal